Me in front of a graffiti Toucan in Berlin
About Me

My Story

A little bit about me.

I grew up in Boulder, Colorado. In my junior year in high school, a foreign exchange student from Germany came for the year. We very soon became good friends. After a few months into his stay, his host family kicked him out and tried to force him to go back to Germany. When my mom found out about this, she invited him to come live with us for the remainder of his exchange program. Our families ended up becoming good friends, and they invited me to come to stay with them for a year.

Two weeks after I graduated from high school, I packed as many clothes and shoes as  I possibly could fit into two suitcases, and hopped on a flight to Hamburg. Two flights and one 8-hour layover later, I landed. I was whisked away from Hamburg Airport to the small town of Bargfeld-Stegen.

Bargfeld-Stegen, home to 2.900 people, is located 19 miles north of Hamburg. I lived in this quaint town for 15 months with my new host family. During my time there I worked as a federal volunteer in another nearby town called Bargteheide. 

September of 2017 my mom decided to move to Germany to pursue her career as a tour director on the Rhine. Along with her, we brought our dog Luke and our cat Sasha with us. We have been living in another small town about 22 miles west of Hamburg since then. 

In the last year, I have started studying Cross-media at a private University, and have started this blog.  Independent Mostly was inspired by all of the experiences I’ve had in the last 3 years while living in Germany. I’m starting this blog in the hopes of being able to help anyone around my age becoming independent… Mostly. 

Comments

Comments are closed.